Spoon Dance In The Hippocampus
Video Calender  |  Learning Diary  |  E-Learning Spoon Dance  |  About Spoon Dance  |  Research Diary  |  Other Venues



While working on this project new questions emerged about the spoon dance in October 2004, concerning its origin, its socio-cultural embedding and the authenticity it is ascribed. I seemed to have reached the limits of the possibilities to research this topic via e-mail and Internet, so I decided to fly to Athens. I spent ten days both in February and in March 2005 in the Greek capital where I was on the look out for further traces.



First trip: Athens, February 2005

10 February 2005
  • Visited the Museum of National History in the former Parliament building in search of traditional costumes of Asia Minor
  • At the Center for Asia Minor Studies, by sheer coincidence, I ran into Markos Dragoumis, a musicologist who I had been writing to since the beginning of my project. Meeting him in person was really encouraging.
  • Dragoumis introduced me to Alkis Raftis, president of the Dora Stratou Theater that is one of the main places that maintains and cultivates traditional Greek dance.

11 February 2005
  • Dora Stratou Theater: spoke with Raftis again, afterwards research in the theater's archives. Raftis proposes that we collaborate on a publication on Karsilmades (pair dances that are mainly done casually standing opposite one another with a simple step pattern).


13 February 2005
  • Visited a friend, Leto Seferiades, a distant relative of Angeliki Hadjimichali (an internationally renowned folklorist, 1895-1965). Seferiades is also a friend with the famous singer Domna Samious. She also does field studies in the musicology of Asia Minor. Seferiades arranges for me to meet the singer at a concert where she is to perform songs of Asia Minor on March 8 and 9, 2005 at Musiki Megaron in Athens.

14 February 2005
  • Spoke with Markos Dragoumis at the Center for Asia Minor Studies about the musicologist Melpo Merlier, the founder of the Center.

15 February 2005
  • Visited the Museum of Greek Popular Instruments where I discover a showcase with spoons that were used as instruments.
  • At the Center of Popular Art and Tradition Municipality of Athens (Angeliki Hadjimichali's former house) I find a showcase with intricately carved Greek wooden spoons from diverse proveniences.
  • Visited the Greek Folk Art Museum
  • I speak with Alkis Raftis about publication plans and re-read travel journals and dissertations on dance.
  • I meet with dance historian Marigoula Kritsioti a dance researcher for the Dora Stratou Theater who also runs a lecture series at the UNESCO International Dance Council in Paris.

18 February 2005
  • Markos Dragumis gives me photocopies of the spoon dance that he received from Mr. Papadopoulos whose ancestors are from Asia Minor.
  • Interview with Mr. Mavropolous, artistic director of the dance company at the Dora Stratou Theater. He shows me a > video in which dancers (one elderly woman and two elderly men) of an organization that preserves Cappadocian traditions do a free interpretation of the Choros ton koutalion (spoon dance).
  • Spoke with Alkis Raftis, who wanted me to meet an orthodox priest from Asia Minor who had taught Dora Stratou Cappadocian dances in the 1950s. However, the priest had passed away some days prior to our conversation.
  • Invitation to meet art collector Yannis Christoforakos and his wife Angeliki. She suggests I meet with Frenzesca Langenfass, the director of the Gymnasium , the German school in Athens. Her ancestors are from Asia Minor, which is why she is active in an organization that deals with the history of her city district, which was founded by refugees.


Second trip: Athens, March 2005

8 March 2005
  • Took pictures of (and bought) diverse wooden spoons in the Plaka, the old city center of Athens. Surprisingly, Domna Samious' concert was more of a show than a concert. Each piece was performed on stage by different people; the dance groups, choruses, diverse singers and solo musicians constantly changed. The performance was in front of a backdrop as large as the stage with a video projection of historical and contemporary film scenes of Asia Minor. Spoons came up repeatedly as instrumental accompaniment to dance, song and instrumental pieces. One particular group was exceptionally inspiring; they performed dances of Asia Minor and the spoon dance in everyday clothing without any particular choreography unlike the performances at the Dora Stratou Theater. > video

9 March 2005
  • At the Center for Asia Minor Studies I photograph historical spoons in their collection of instruments. In the hallway there are photos of Asia Minor and I am particularly interested in one from the 1950s/1960s depicting two men in an embrace, bidding farewell, their facial expressions are moving but still very disciplined. One of the men is Turkish and the other is Greek, they had been friends in school in Cappadocia and saw each other when the Greek man was on a visit to his former home.
  • Visited the Lykion ton Ellinídon (Lyceum Club of Greek Women) and had an intriguing conversation with folklorist Evangelia Antzaka. I really have the feeling I am getting somewhere and have reached a new level of understanding.
  • I go to Domna Samiou's concert a second time and go backstage after the show. Domna invites me to join her and the singers at a tavern. There they sing tatty carnival songs almost the whole time.

10 March 2005
  • At the Museum of the History of the Greek Costume at the Lykion ton Ellinídon , I find slippers from Asia Minor that women wear for dancing.
  • Benaki-Museum: the museum shop sells remakes of a Byzantine bowl with a depiction of a dancer with a spoon-like rhythmic instrument on it.

11 March 2005
  • At the Lykion ton Ellinídon I meet with Lefteris Drandaki, the director of the Lykion 's dance group, and Evangelia Antzaka for an informative talk. Drandaki has copies of a television documentary series from the 1970s/1980s about the dances of refugees from Asia Minor. Once again the authenticity of these dances is problematized. > video
  • Markos Dragoumis shows me ethnographic archive material of singers from Asia Minor.
  • Center of Popular Art and Tradition Municipality of Athens: I inquire about the director of the museum, Stella Konitsioti, in order to find out more about Angeliki Hadjimichali. It is remarkable women have been the ones to strive to preserve the Greek folklore traditions and have founded institutions to do so. Examples include: folklorist Hadjimichali, musicologist Melpo Merlier (who, in the 1930s, recorded songs of refugees from Asia Minor, that provided the basis for the Center for Asia Minor Studies), Dora Stratou (who, in the 1950s, founded a living museum as a theater for Greek folk dance), and the Lykion ton Ellinídon (a school that paid special attention to Greek folk art and also had feminist objectives at the time) was founded by a woman, and Domna Samiou.

13 March 2005
  • Invitation to Marigoula Krisioti's; Naira Kilichian, a dance scholar from Erivan, Armenia, is also invited. It is fascinating to hear about the Armenian version of the spoon dance.
  • It is the last day of carnival in Athens and there are children and adults dressed up in costumes all over the place. The celebrations are excessive and Dionysiac.

15 March 2005
  • Center of Popular Art and Tradition Municipality of Athens: because the director is out, the ladies in the secretariat advise me to see the librarian who copies an entire book about Angeliki Hadjimichaeli for me.
  • Travel to Nea Ionia, formerly a refugee quarter in Athens, where Franzesca Langenfass meets me at the metro station and shows me around her area. She tells a story about almost every building and points out the architecture of the refugee's homes that are mostly one-storey houses where several people live together in a very small space. These houses are frequently torn down and the land is sold at exorbitant rates and high-rises are put in their place. The history of refugees and problems of emigration repeats itself: emigrants, for example from Pakistan, live in those old condemned buildings.

16 March 2005
  • I speak with Alkis Raftis about further details of the publication project and take pictures of the costume workshop at the Dora Stratou Theater.
  • I visit the War Museum to do some research on the war in the Balkans, but the offices are closed.
  • I visit the Historical and Folklore Museum of the Greeks of the Black Sea, which is located in Nea Smirni, outside the center of the city and was built by people who live in what is called Izmir today.

17 March 2005
  • Return to Vienna




Bettina Henkel, Secession 2004






































more images >

Löffeltanz im Hippocampus
Videokalender  |  Lerntagebuch  |  E-Learning Löffeltanz  |  Über den Löffeltanz  |  Recherchetagebuch  |  Andere Orte



Während meiner Arbeit an diesem Projekt drängten sich mir im Oktober 2004 neue Fragen zum Löffeltanz auf: zu seiner Herkunft, seiner soziokultureller Einbettung, zu seiner ihm zugesprochenen Authentizität. Die Möglichkeiten der Recherche mit Hilfe von E-Mail und Internet schienen ausgeschöpft zu sein, sodass ich beschloss nach Athen zu fliegen. Im Februar und März 2005 flog ich für je zehn Tage in die griechische Hauptstadt, um die Spurensuche weiter zu verfolgen.



1. Reise: Athen, Februar 2005

10.02.05
  • Besuch des Historischen Nationalmuseums im alten Parlamentsgebäude, um nach kleinasiatischen Trachten zu suchen
  • Im Zentrum für kleinasiatische Studien laufe ich zufällig dem Musikologen Markos Dragoumis über den Weg, mit dem ich seit Beginn meines Projekts in Briefkontakt stehe. Der persönliche Kontakt ist stark motivierend.
  • Dragoumis stellt mich Alkis Raftis vor, dem Präsidenten des Dora-Stratou-Theaters, eines der zentralen Stätten der Pflege des griechischen Tanzes.

11.02.05
  • Dora-Stratou-Theater: erneutes Gespräch mit Raftis und anschließende Recherche im Theaterarchiv. Raftis bietet mir an, zusammen mit ihm eine Publikation über Karsilamades (Paartänze, meist locker gegenüberstehend, aber mit einfacher Schrittfolge) zu verfassen.

13.02.05
  • Besuch meiner Freundin Leto Seferiades, einer entfernten Verwandten von Angeliki Hadjimichali (18951965, international renommierte Volkskundlerin) und Freundin der bekannten Sängerin Domna Samious. Diese beschäftigt sich unter anderem mit kleinasiatischer musikologischer Feldforschung. Seferiades vermittelt ein Treffen mit der Interpretin bei ihrem Konzert im Musiki Megaron, Athen, am 8. und 9. März 2005, bei dem sie kleinasiatische Lieder vortragen wird.

14.02.05
  • Gespräch mit Markos Dragoumis im Zentrum für kleinasiatische Studien über die Musikologin Melpo Merlier, der Gründerin des Zentrums

15.02.05
  • Besichtigung des Museums für volkstümliche griechische Musikinstrumente, ich entdecke eine Vitrine mit Löffeln, die als Instrumente benutzt wurden.
  • Im Zentrum für Volkskunst und Brauchtum der Stadt Athen (Wohnhaus von Angeliki Hadjimichali) sehe ich eine Vitrine mit kunstvoll geschnitzten griechischen Holzlöffeln verschiedenster Provenienz.
  • Besuch des Museums für griechische Volkskunst
  • Mit Alkis Raftis spreche ich über die geplante Publikation, studiere nochmals alte Reiseaufzeichnungen und einige Dissertationen über Tanz.
  • Gespräch mit der Tanzhistorikerin Marigoula Kritsioti, Tanzforscherin für das Dora-Stratou-Theater und Leiterin einer Vortragsreihe des International Dance Council der Unesco, Paris

18.02.05
  • Markos Dragumis gibt mir Fotokopien zum Löffeltanz, die ihm Herr Papadopoulos, der kleinasiatische Vorfahren hat, zur Verfügung gestellt hat.
  • Interview mit Herrn Mavropolous, künstlerischer Leiter der Tanzkompanie des Dora-Stratou-Theaters. Er führt mir ein > Video vor, das TänzerInnen eines kappadokischen Brauchtumsvereins zeigt, die den Choros ton koutalio n (Löffeltanz) sehr frei interpretieren.
  • Gespräch mit Alkis Raftis, der mich an einen kleinasiatischen orthodoxen Priester verweisen wollte, der in den 50er-Jahren Dora Stratou kappadokische Tänze beibrachte. Der Priester jedoch war einige Tage zuvor verstorben.
  • Einladung beim Kunstsammler Yannis Christoforakos und seiner Frau Angeliki. Sie schlägt mir ein Treffen mit Franzesca Langenfass vor, der Direktorin des Gymnasiums der deutschen Schule in Athen. Ihre Vorfahren kamen aus Kleinasien, weshalb sie sich in einem Verein, der sich mit der Geschichte ihres von Flüchtlingen gegründeten Stadtteils beschäftigt, engagiert.


2. Reise: Athen, März 2005

08.03.05
  • Diverse Holzlöffel in der Plaka, der Altstadt Athens, fotografiert (und gekauft). Das Konzert Domna Samious ist erstaunlicherweise mehr eine Show als ein Konzert. Fast bei jedem Stück gibt es eine andere Bühnenbesetzung mit mehreren Tanzgruppen, Chören, verschiedenen Sängern sowie auch reinen solistischen Instrumentalstücken. Dies alles geschieht vor einer bühnenfüllenden Videoprojektion mit historischen und heutigen Filmaufnahmen über Kleinasien. Löffel als Tanz-, Gesangs- und Instrumentalbegleitung erscheinen mehrfach. Sehr anregend sind die Tanzeinlagen einer Gruppe, die in Alltagskleidung kleinasiatische tanzen, der Löffeltanz wird ohne Choreografie im Gegensatz zur Löffeltanzaufführung des Dora-Stratou-Theater praktiziert. > Video

09.03.05
  • Im Zentrum für kleinasiatische Studien fotografiere ich die historischen Löffel der Instrumentensammlung. Im Flur hängen Fotos aus Kleinasien, vor allem interessiert mich eines aus den 50er/60er-Jahren, das zwei Männer in einer Umarmung im Moment der Verabschiedung mit stark bewegtem, aber diszipliniertem Gesichtsausdruck zeigt. Es sind ein Türke und ein Grieche, die früher Schulfreunde in Kappadokien waren und sich beim Besuch des Griechen in seiner ehemaligen Heimat wieder begegneten.
  • Besuch des Lykion ton Ellinídon (Lyzeum griechischer Frauen), beeindruckendes Gespräch mit der Volkskundlerin Evangelia Antzaka. Ich habe das Gefühl, hier wirklich einen Schritt voran-, der Sache näher zu kommen.
  • Gehe zum zweiten Mal ins Domna-Samiou-Konzert und suche den Backstagebereich nach dem Konzert auf. Domna lädt mich ein, mit ihr und den SängerInnen in eine Taverne zu gehen. Dort singen sie fast die ganze Zeit zottige Karnevalslieder.

10.03.05
11.03.05
  • Im Lykion ton Ellinídon treffe ich Lefteris Drandaki, Leiter der Lykion-Tanzgruppe, und Evangelia Antzaka zu einem aufschlussreichen Gespräch. Drandaki hat Fernsehaufnahmen einer Dokumentarserie aus den 70er/80er-Jahren über Tänze kleinasiatischer Flüchtlinge mitgebracht. Abermals wird die Authentizität dieser Tänze problematisiert. > Video
  • Markos Dragoumis zeigt mir ethnografische Archivmaterialien kleinasiatischer SängerInnen.
  • Zentrum für Volkskunst und Brauchtum der Stadt Athen: Ich erkundige mich nach der Leiterin des Museums Stella Konitsioti, um etwas über Angeliki Hadjimichali zu erfahren. Bemerkenswert ist, dass jeweils Frauen sich um griechische Volkstraditionen bemühten und Institutionen initiierten, etwa die Volkskundlerin Hadjimichali, die Musikologin Melpo Merlier (die in den 1930er-Jahren Lieder kleinasiatischer Flüchtlinge aufnahm, woraus das Zentrum für kleinasiatische Studien hervorging), Dora Stratou (die in den 1950er-Jahren ein lebendes Museum für griechischen Volkstanz als Theater gründete), das 1911 von einer Frau gegründete Lykion ton Ellinídon (das sich auf griechische Volkskunst besann und damals feministische Ziele hatte) und Domna Samiou.

13.03.05
  • Einladung bei Marigoula Kritsioti; Naira Kilichian, Tanzforscherin aus Erivan/Armenien, ist ebenfalls eingeladen. Es ist spannend über das armenische Pendant des Löffeltanzes zu hören.
  • Es ist der letzte Karnevalstag in Athen, überall laufen verkleidete Kinder und Erwachsene herum, es wird sehr ausgiebig und dionysisch gefeiert.

15.03.05
  • Zentrum für Volkskunst und Brauchtum der Stadt Athen: Da die Leiterin nicht da ist, verweisen mich die Damen vom Sekretariat an den Bibliothekar, der mir ein ganzes Buch über Angeliki Hatzmichaeli kopiert.
  • Fahrt nach Nea Ionia, einem ehemaligen Flüchtlingsstadtteil Athens, wo mich Franzesca Langenfass von der Metrostation abholt und durch ihren Stadtteil führt. Zu fast jedem Gebäude erzählt sie etwas und weist mich auf die Flüchtlingshausarchitektur hin, meist kleine einstöckige einfache Häuser, in denen viele Menschen auf kleinem Raum leben. Meist werden die Häuser abgerissen, der Grund teuer verkauft und Hochhäuser errichtet. Die Geschichte von Flucht und Emigrationsproblematik wiederholt sich, indem dort in den alten baufälligen Häusern nun zum Beispiel pakistanische EmigrantInnen leben.

16.03.05
  • Im Dora-Stratou-Theater bespreche ich mit Alkis Raftis das weitere Vorgehen für die Publikation und fotografiere die Kostümwerkstatt.
  • Ich suche das Kriegsmuseum auf, um etwas über die Balkankriege zu recherchieren, doch sind die Abteilungen geschlossen.
  • Das Historische und Volkskundliche Museum der Schwarzmeergriechen, das ich aufsuche, liegt außerhalb des Stadtzentrums in Nea Smirni, erbaut von Menschen aus dem heutigen Izmir.

17.03.05
  • Rückflug nach Wien




Bettina Henkel, Secession 2004






































weitere Bilder >